Top posting users this week
Chouse
 
andrewp
 
JohnW
 
3hundredspartans
 
CRISTIAN 1
 

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 29 on Tue 30 May - 4:54
Latest topics
» My Townmate is on ebay
Wed 19 Jul - 16:21 by CRISTIAN 1

» Someone on the wacky tobaccy, again!
Tue 18 Jul - 22:45 by JohnW

» Townmate for £1
Mon 17 Jul - 11:10 by 3hundredspartans

» The story of my T80 so far
Wed 12 Jul - 5:56 by Chouse

» Inherited a townmate
Wed 12 Jul - 3:06 by Mark1982.

» Creaky Front Suspension
Sat 8 Jul - 19:28 by barker

» Big Hello from Germany !
Fri 7 Jul - 23:21 by JohnW

» Bearing Plate Bolts
Thu 6 Jul - 3:22 by JohnW

» T80 for sale
Thu 29 Jun - 4:04 by JohnW


Gear Lever Loose

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Gear Lever Loose

Post  fender on Fri 4 Apr - 9:13

Really pleased with my 1984 Townmate. Just fitted it with a new front tyre and will be riding much more now the road salt has gone and hopefully warmer weather is here.

Had a go over it today and it looks like the gear lever pedal is a little loose and has some side to side play. Is this normal?

Looks like it may be hard to tighten as one of the footpegs partly covers what I think is the bolt that holds it on.

Please advise.

Thanks.

fender

Posts : 50
Join date : 2013-09-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Gear Lever Loose

Post  JohnW on Fri 4 Apr - 19:03

Gear leaver can be a bit loose on splines, you should be able to get to the bolt by moving the lever in up or down position. Change the M6 bolt for a good quality high tensile steel one, or a socket cap screw. If you leave it loose it will get worse as splines wear.

JohnW

Posts : 997
Join date : 2011-10-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum